When life hands you limes and lilikoi

A big bag at the preschool said ‘tahitian limes- help yourself’, so I did.  And then I did again.  I brought home the huge, yellowish green limes with two thoughts in mind.  I could make some sort of a pie, a delicious, fattening pie, or I could make a drink.  With tequila.  Senor Cuervo won that round, and I decided to work on my lilikoi margarita recipe, since the lilikoi are also in season right in my own backyard, and I had a large bowl of them waiting at home.  While lilikoi margaritas are popular in our local restaurants, I’ve yet to find a recipe to replicate it at home.  Here was tonight’s attempt:

Lilikoi (Passionfruit) Margarita Recipe

  • 2 oz fresh lime juice (this was 1/2 lime for me- i told you they were huge)
  • 1 oz lilikoi juice (3-4 lilikoi, strain out the seeds)
  • 1 oz tequila (who am i kidding? you will add more…)
  • 1/2 oz triple sec
  • 1/2 oz sweet and sour mix (I think- i actually ran out tonight so i used orgeat syrup instead… anyway, add something sweet because limes and lilikoi are both very tangy!)

I would love to post a pic here (see pic of bowl limes and lilikoi, accidentally posted separately as I learn to navigate wordpress…) but I kept drinking and tasting and drinking and tasting, so by the time I figured out the proportions, I had a few sad ice cubes in the bottom of my lovely, salt-rimmed glass.  Which brings me to the debate- rocks or blended?  I always prefer rocks, because I think the blended get watery… You?

Leave a Reply

