Getting Lost on Maui- The Baja Fog

If you are under 21, just stop reading.  NOW.

I’ve lived on Maui for longer than I’ve lived anywhere else, and consider it my home, but I’ve spent enough time on the East Coast to consider Jimmy Buffett a kind of god- the patron saint of margaritas, tacky aloha shirts, and lost shakers of salt.  I’ve been a fan of Jimmy since my first margaritaville party, at age 17, in Maine.   When they discovered I was from Maui, they handed over their reigns to the pina-coloda-filled blender.   I had no clue what I was doing but they all raved about my drinks.  Little did they know, since I didn’t want to kill any of my new friends I was going very light on the rum (I was a conservative youth).

Jimmy’s coming to Maui for an actual concert, (tickets go on sale tomorrow) and I will be calling up with my credit card in hand.

But back to the recipes-   I’ve already posted a recipe for a lilikoi margarita, so tonight’s recipe is another one involving tequila (or as i often refer to it- te-kill-ya). I have absolutely no idea who to originally credit for this recipe, as most likely the person who came up with it has no recollection.

Baja Fog Recipe

  • crowd of your closest, most fun friends
  • many, many bottles of Corona
  • large bottle of tequila (not the good stuff)
  • bottle opener
  • limes (totally optional, anything involving knives should be at this point)
  • designated driver (not optional, unless you are walking home…)

Directions–  Open enough bottles of CORONA for each person (minus designated driver).  Fill Corona bottles to the very top with tequila (no room for limes at this point…) . Simultaneously, everyone has to chug down to the top line of the front Corona label.  If you don’t, your bottle is REFILLED with tequila.  Optional lime slices may be added at this point, but the tequila flavors the Corona nicely, regardless.

Repeat, until sufficiently foggy.

5 responses to “Getting Lost on Maui- The Baja Fog

Leave a Reply

