You Float my Zucchini Boat

Funny thing about the food blogging world.  Recipes tend to beget more recipes.  I sent the link to the blog to my college roommie, Helen (although, now I think she goes by Eleni). The zucchini muffin recipe prompted her to send me her zucchini boat recipe, which, presumably, she cooks for her family, also including two kids.  I made some changes, using the vegetables I had on hand, and also since I wasn’t really reading the directions and ended up cooking all the vegetables together.  To keep this from being too confusing, i’ll include her recipe here, then add my comments and pictures below.

Eleni’s Zucchini Boat Recipe:

Ingredients: (2 servings, 1 if you’re Greek)

 1 large zucchini

1 small onion, chopped

1-2 garlic cloves, minced (i always go more with garlic in every dish)

1-2 tsp rice wine vinegar (if you like, not necessary)

1 cup shredded carrot

1 cup spinach, chopped

1/3 cup breadcrumbs

1/2 cup cheese of your liking

salt, pepper, basil to taste

 

1. Cut off ends of zuchini and halve,lengthwise

2. Scoop out the flesh leaving the shell intact

3. Spray some butter or olive oil on the shells and place in the oven at 400 degrees

4. Chop zuchini flesh, garlic and onion then add rice wine vinegar and cook over medium heat until soft

5. Add salt, pepper, basil or whatever spices please you 

6. Add shredded carrot and chopped spinach (you can pretty much use any veggie, mushrooms are good in this too) and cook for a couple minutes.

7. Remove from heat, add in breadcrumbs and cheese (feta, goat cheese, cheddar, whatever on hand)

8. Remove Zuchini shells from oven, stuff with mixture and bake for 15 min. or until slightly browned.

* I used only veggies but this is also good with ground meat or turkey sausage

 I didn’t use the rice wine vinegar, but used a little balsamic instead.  I took an onion, a garlic clove, a cup of baby carrots, and two cups of broccoli and put it in the vitamix on low -med speed, until it was pretty finely chopped.  I sauteed all the vegetables together (while the zucchini roasted in the oven).  I mixed in the breadcrumbs, and assembled the boats.
My sous chef said she wanted one sail boat and one canoe.  I wasn’t sure how to make it look like a canoe, so it because a crew shell, using little toothpick oars.
Then, I made a sailboat using a piece of velveeta cheese and a kabob skewer, which is harder than it looks.  I added the toppings afterwards, so Ali could have the velveeta on hers, and I could have pistachio pesto and goat cheese on mine.

When I went to take the picture, I had to laugh, because I had made Helen and I!  In college, she was on the crew team and I was on the sailing team, so every once in a while, we were down there on the river, side by side… on our little boats.

So, this post is dedicated to my friend Leni, who survived sleeping underneath me (on the bunk bed!), a trip to France, psych 101, countless, countless hours of dancing, and introduced me to the world of Greek food beyond gyros and baklava.
Leave a Reply

