Fruity All Bran Muffins

We went to Krispy Kreme yesterday.  I ordered the Dark Chocolate Kreme Filled, because I believe if you are going to indulge, you should really just go for it.  It was yummy.  But, I figured to make up for it, I would make Bran Muffins the next day.  Which are without a doubt, way healthier (because I actually know what is in them…) and, in my opinion, also yummy.

I went online to find a recipe using Kellogg’s All Bran cereal, which of course I found, but couldn’t find one with exactly what I wanted.  So as usual I just doctored up the recipe a bit, then ate them all (ok, the family helped) just to make sure it worked.  Let’s just say- I made them yesterday and there may be ONE lonely muffin left, 24 hours later.

Fruity All Bran Muffin Recipe

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Kellogg’s All Bran cereal
  • 1 1/4 c milk (used low fat)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/8 c vegetable oil
  • 1/8 c applesauce
  • 1/8 c greek yogurt (0%)
  • 1 c white flour
  • 1/4 c wheat flour
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 c raisins
  • 1/4 craisins (chopped)
  • 1/4 cup chopped apples
  • turbinado sugar to sprinkle on top, as desired

Directions

  1. Combine cereal and milk. let stand 1/2 hour
  2. add egg and milk, beat well
  3. add rest of ingredients (minus fruit), combine until just mixed
  4. add fruit, combine
  5. put into muffin tins sprayed with pam
  6. top with turbinado sugar
  7. bake at 400 F for 20 minutes, or until golden brown. Image
One response to “Fruity All Bran Muffins

Leave a Reply

