Baked Apple Chips

There are two kinds of apples at Costco.  Tasty ones, and terrible ones.  These were not the best batch.  I think they were Gala’s.   So I put my trusty mandolin to work and started baking (again).  I read that you should use parchment or the apples will stick to the baking sheet, even sprayed, but I used tin foil in absence of parchment and spray and it seemed fine.  I baked the first batch, and after cooking for two hours, then watching them all disappear in a matter of minutes, I knew I had to try something more creative to cook more chips at a time- where the wire cooling rack comes in handy. This is less of a recipe and more of a discussion, so I’ll tell you what I did.

  1. Thinly slice the apples– I used the thinest selection on the mandolin.
  2. add a layer to each baking sheet- – they shrink up a little so you can overlap them a bit to get more in there…
  3. sprinkle on cinnamon sugar
  4. top the baking sheet with a wire cooling rack 
  5. add more slices and sprinkle on the cinnamon sugar (i used up four apples this way)
  6. Bake at 275 for two hours, flipping each slice after an hour.  
  7. when the apples on the wire racks are done to your liking (chewy or crispy!), remove, then continue baking the ones on the sheets.

2 responses to “Baked Apple Chips

Leave a Reply

