Baked Tofu- Two Way

I’ve been on a baking kick.  For a while I was roasting everything I could get my hands on, but now I’m trying everything baked.

My mother-in-law made baked tofu, which was delicious, so the next time I was at Costco I picked up a three-pack and did a little research.  There are probably a million different ways to bake tofu, but here is what I did.

  1. Drain, rinse and press the tofu.  To press- put it on a plate or baking sheet, top with another plate, or anything, then add a big can of tomatoes or cast iron pan, heavy cutting board, you get the drill.  The idea is that if you press out all the water, it will better absorb the marinade.  I’m not sure of the optimal time, I just do it for a half hour or so.
  2. Marinate the tofu.  Cut it to whatever size you want- strips, bites, etc. You can use soy sauce, barbeque sauce, teriyaki sauce… i used Hawaiian BBQ sauce from Costco, since the two-gallon (exagerating, slightly) container was taking up most of my fridge.

    Hawaiian Barbeque Sauce

  3. Add a crust if you like- again, could probably coat with anything, but after marinating for 30 min, i dipped in a mixture of half cornmeal, half nutritional yeast.
  4. Bake- put on a baking sheet covered with tin foil.  Bake at 350 for an hour or so, flipping after 30 minutes, then checking every 15 minutes afterwards.  Its much less messy if you add a crust, the marinade i used was really sweet and burned and made a nice burned crust, but use the cornmeal for a nice crunchy texture.
One response to “Baked Tofu- Two Way

Leave a Reply

