Bran Muffins- Two Ways

Yesterday (i think it was yesterday, my days blend together) I woke up wanting to make carrot bran muffins, and guess what I saw on Facebook? A fellow Maui-based food blogger, Tiffany Kidder, made carrot bran muffins.  She used a completely different recipe than I ended up using, but they probably ended up tasting fairly similar (like a bran muffin…) I’m not sure how her’s ended up, but mine were tasty, however dense (i think it’s the whole wheat flour/bran).  Mine is based on the Kellogg’s All-Bran recipe, but this time I ended up making two different muffins.

I like to throw dried fruits in mine, but this time, everytime I opened the fridge the leftover canned pineapple was calling out to me.  I figured it might be pretty tasty in there so I tried it in about half the muffins.  In the other half, I used raisins, craisins and chopped walnuts.  I put half the batter in another bowl, mixed in what I wanted, then put in the muffin tins.  Then I mixed in the other mix-ins (sorry, now this is getting confusing…) and made the rest of the muffins.

One thing I noted from these muffins, they are pretty low in fat, so they kind of stick to the paper liners- I ran out of liners and the muffins that I just sprayed with Pam popped right out, but the ones in the liners lost a lot of muffin to the liner…

Bran Muffins Recipe- Two Ways (or however you like it…)

Ingredients

  •  2 cups Kellogg’s all-bran cereal
  • 1 1/4 c milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/8 c coconut oil
  • 1/8 c applesauce
  • 1/8 c greek yogurt
  • 3/4 c white flour
  • 1/2 c wheat flour
  • 1/4 c brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp molasses (adding it in for my slightly anemic little boy!)
  • 1 tbsp flax
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 c baby carrots- grated (food processor or vitamix works great!)
  • Add-ins (raisins, craisins, walnuts, chopped apples, chopped pineapple-  1/4c to 1/2 c each depending on what you want!)
  • top- turbinado sugar!

Directions

  1. Combine cereal and milk.  let stand for 1/2 hour
  2. add egg, oil, applesauce and yogurt, beat well
  3. add rest of ingredient (except mix-ins) beat until just combined
  4. pour into muffin pans sprayed with pam (recommended over liners- see above)
  5. divide batter if desired to add in the different ‘add-ins’
  6. top with a pinch of turbinado sugar
  7. cook for 20 minutes at 400′ or until golden brown.

note- i didn’t really read the instructions this time and let the cereal and milk stand while i mixed the rest, and grated carrots, etc, adding that in at the end.  besides being a little dense, which i think they would anyway, i think they turned out fine.  The ones with pineapple turned out delicious, but i also liked the nutty walnut raisin ones.  the turbinado (raw) sugar adds a nice sweet crunch on top.  Carrot Bran Muffin

Leave a Reply

